You are here:  Home > CWL Awards > Frances Lovering Award
CWL Crest

Mission Statement
The Catholic Women's League of Canada is a national organization rooted in gospel values calling its members to holiness through service to the People of God.

Send your comments
Comments, questions and suggestions

Hamilton Diocese CWL
Frances Lovering Awards

CLICK HERE to view Past Recipients.
CLICK HERE for the Application for the Award. (Deadline April 20)
CLICK HERE to read the life of Frances Lovering.

In the year 2000, as a Millennium Project, the diocesan executive initiated the Woman of the Year Award. This award is named to honour Frances Lovering, a member of the first executive of Catholic Women's League of Canada, and our first diocesan president.

Nomination forms are distributed each year in the Spring Regional envelopes and completed forms returned to the Diocesan Organization Chair by the first of April. A review committee then examines each nomination to determine a winner.

There are no formal criteria for this nomination. The nominee is to be a member who demonstrates the objectives of the League in her service to the League, her parish, and the community. Local council executive are invited to take a good look at the women in their council and nominate one member for this special distinction.

There are many reasons for choosing a nominee. Executive may wish to honour a member who has worked tirelessly on a special task or project or someone who has been an example of faith and service to other members. Diocesan executive members are not eligible for this award while they are in office.

All nominees are acknowledged for their nomination at the closing banquet at our annual convention, and presented with a Certificate of Congratulations. The award recipient is presented with a personal award plaque.

The award recipient also receives the commemorative plaque listing all previous award recipients. It is kept in her parish for the next year.


Past Recipients

Click on the highlighted name below to view the bio.

  2018 St. Aloysius, Kitchener
  2017 Anna Rettinger St. Andrew, Oakville
  2016 St. Luke, Hamilton
  2015 Barbara Diemert St. Francis of Assisi, Kitchener
  2014 Anne Rehkopf Holy Family, Hanover
  2013 Elsie Hankinson St. Pius, Brantford
  2012 Helen Kurtz Christie St. Joseph, Guelph
  2011 Noreen Miehm Holy Cross, Georgetown
Barbara Bishop Barbara Bishop
Holy Rosary, Guelph
  2009 Anne Marie Sehl St. Agnes, Waterloo
Marian Flanigan Marian Flanigan
St. Mary of the Purification, Mount Forest
Nancy Morley Nancy Morley
St. Luke, Hamilton
Margaret Synnott Margaret Synnott
St. Joseph, Guelph
Rita Bradbury Rita Bradbury
St. Gabriel, Burlington
  2004 Dorothy Farwell Sacred Heart, Kitchener
Mary Elizabeth Codnich Mary Elizabeth Codnich
Regina Mundi, Hamilton
Betty Dietrich Betty Dietrich
St. John, Kitchener
Siena Van Hoekelin Siena Van Hoekelin
Holy Cross, Georgetown
Ann Brown Ann Brown
St. John, Arthur

top of page | CWL Awards | Home